Reconstruction of a prehistoric pile dwelling in Pestenacker © Bayerisches Landesamt für Denkmalpflege, U. Schlitzer

  Weil  |     Pestenacker

Short Description
The Neolithic settlement of Pestenacker was discovered in the course of re-routing theLoosbach brook in 1934. From 1988 to 1993 and 2000 to 2004, large-scale excavations were carried out at the site. Like in the nearby settlement of Unfriedshausen, the material culture of the inhabitants belongs to the Neolithic Altheim group. The contruction of Pestenacker postdates Unfriedshausen, which suggests that the village at Pestenackermay have replaced the Unfriedshausen as its successor. The Neolithic site of Pestenacker is known for its extraordinary good preservation of wood, textiles and plant residues.


3500 – approx. 3450 B.C.

former side arm of the Lech/Loosbach

561 m.a.s.l.

Size of the site 0,57 ha / nearly 1 soccer pitch

Size of the bufferzone 3,66 ha / approx. 5 soccer pitches

Special Features & Highlights
Full-scale reconstruction of a neolithic house. The degree of preservation of prehistoric wood, textiles and plant remains at this site is extraordinary.

The living floor of House 1 during excavation © Bayerisches Landesamt für Denkmalpflege

Current Activities
A small exhibition, and an open-air full-scale reconstructions (of ahouse and living area) and information panels will be updated in 2020/2021. The current DFG project „Direct-Push-Anwendun-gen in der Feuchtboden(geo)archäologie“ investigatesthe prehistoric landscape and the relationship between humans and their environment,by using minimally invasive techniques. The project partners arethe Bavarian State Conservation Office, the Helmholtz-Centre for Environmental Research and the University of Leipzig.

Pile Dwellings up close
The site is visible.
Beginning in Summer/Fall of 2021, there will be several attractions to discover. The exhibition will re-open in the Summer of 2021.

Steinzeitdorf Pestenacker
Hauptstr. 100
86947 Pestenacker-Weil
to the website

Südschwäbisches Archäologie-Museum
Hermelestrasse 4,
87719 Mindelheim
to the website

Opening hours
Daily except mondays
10.00 - 12.00 h and 14.00-17.00 h
and by appointment